Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration

purpose

The Martin Luther King Jr. Committee maintains that the breadth of Dr. King's heritage as an American leader is a mainly untapped resource. Some areas of Dr. King's active involvement to further social justice include all levels of schooling, human violence, intolerance, gender issues, and the structure of job opportunities. Programs in these and other domains developed through various academic disciplines seem appropriate for the committee to cooperatively develop this year.

upcoming mLK Events

Martin Luther King Celebration 2018-2019

October 31, 2018
Mix It Up Day
Move out of your comfort zone and connect with someone new over lunch! It's a simple act with profound implications. Studies have shown that interactions across group lines can help reduce prejudice. Switching seats and having a chat with someone new is a pretty simple way to reduce the number of painful experiences caused by exclusion, prejudice and bullying.

November 5, 2018
7:00 p.m. Gemmell Suites on Main North Theatre
Speaker: ASAC Rufus B. Williams
ASAC Rufus B. Williams is the Assistant Special Agent in charge for the Financial Crimes Investigations (FCI) unit of the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. Rufus' career includes numerous investigations of complex financial crimes, including embezzlement, false pretense, public corruption, money laundering, structuring, mortgage fraud, wire fraud, bank fraud, securities fraud, mail fraud, and elderly financial abuse cases. 

MLK Committee

Co-chairs:

Mr. Rogers J. Laugand III, laugand@clarion.edu
Dr. Phil Terman, pterman@clarion.edu

Committee Members:

Dr. Peggy Apple - papple@clarion.edu

Mr. Joseph Croskey - jcroskey@clarion.edu

Mr. Mark Franchino - mfranchino@clarion.edu

Dr. Mark Lepore - mlepore@clarion.edu

Dr. Candice Matthew - cmatthews@clarion.edu

Ms. Kelly Ryan - kryan@clarion.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Last Updated 10/29/18