Clarion University — Venango holds honors night celebration

April 26, 2019
 Photo Group 1

Outstanding students are pictured left to right including: Kinsey Green of Vowinkle, Medical Imaging Sciences Outstanding Student Award Recipient; Angela Remmick of Venus, Nursing Outstanding Student Award Recipient and recipient of the Regional Vision Scholarship; Dr. Shawn Hoke, assistant vice president of Student Affairs; Samantha Horn of Franklin, Rehabilitative Sciences Outstanding Student Award Recipient and recipient of Zonta Club of Oil City–Franklin Scholarship; Andrew Ritsig of Emlenton, Contribution to Student Life Award recipient; Jay Stull, Applied Technology Outstanding Student Award Recipient and recipient of the Oil City Rotary Scholarship.

Clarion University — Venango held its 27th annual Honors Night celebration at the Quality Inn at Franklin on Thursday, April 11. The event recognizes the achievement of students receiving scholarships and those who excel academically and in leadership positions. Outstanding Student Awards, Scholarship Awards, and Dean’s List Certificates were also presented to the student honorees.

Dr. Pamela Gent, Clarion University Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, welcomed the audience in attendance, congratulated the students and thanked the scholarship donors.

"Tonight we celebrate student achievement and excellence," Gent said. "It is a night to reflect on the hard work of so many and the generosity of the scholarship donors."

The keynote speech was offered by John Phillips, President and Chief Executive Officer for the Oil Region Alliance.

"It is the hard work that got you here tonight. Use that as a foundation to continue to propel you forward. Set goals and strive to accomplish them," said Phillips.

Hope Lineman, Interim Venango Campus Director offered closing remarks to the celebration.

"This is a celebration of students' hard work and the donors that support them. Some of the students are juggling work and family obligations and other challenges that they do not allow to become road blocks. All of these students are motivated and determined and this is what will make them successful," said Lineman.

Four students were selected by their peers and Venango faculty and staff for the Outstanding Student Awards. Recipients were:

  • Samantha Horn of Franklin, rehabilitative sciences
  • Jay Stull of Vowinkle, applied technology
  • Kinsey Green of Chicora, medical imaging
  • Angela Remmick of Venus, nursing

Dr. Shawn Hoke, assistant vice president Student Affairs, presented Andrew Ritsig of Emlenton with the Contribution to Student Life Award.

Fifty-seven students were recognized with Dean's List and Special Achievement honors.

Forty-seven students were recognized as receiving Venango Campus Scholarships from the following donors:

  • Alexander D. "Bud" Marks
  • Derrick Publishing Company in memory of Edward P. Boyle
  • Dr. and Mrs. Arthur W. Phillips in memory of William J. McFate and Judge William E. Breene
  • Dr. Glenn R. McElhattan
  • Franklin Rotary
  • Galaxy Federal Credit Union
  • Louis Adelson Scholarship
  • Margery L. Himes
  • Nathan & Jack Gourley Memorial Scholarship
  • Oil City Lions in memory of Lillian (Shaw) Shinkle and Ted Shaw
  • Oil City Rotary
  • Pennzoil Scholarship Endowment
  • Regional Vision
  • Ronald E. Black
  • Second Presbyterian Women Health Science Majors
  • Theodore R. Shaw and Lillian M. L. (Shaw) Shinkle Nursing Scholarship
  • UPMC Northwest Auxiliary
  • Venango Campus Endowment
  • Zonta Club of Oil City – Franklin.
 Photo Group 2

Pictured left to right are the recipients of the Dr. Glenn R. McElhattan Scholarship including Lauren Yeager of Bellefonte; Trelyn Nelson of Meadville; and Alexa Chaikowsky of Bethlehem. Mary McElhattan and Dr. Glenn R. McElhattan (right) represented the scholarship.

 Photo Group 3

Pictured left to right are John Phillips, keynote speaker; Zachary Covington representing the Franklin Rotary Scholarship; Jeannine Guth representing the Oil City Rotary Scholarship; Hope Lineman, interim Venango campus director; and Will Price, Venango Campus Alumni Association.


 Photo Group 4

Pictured front row from left are Nancy Cubbon, Venango Campus Advisory Council member; Suzanne Williams, representing the Zonta Club of Oil City-Franklin scholarship. Back row from left includes Mike Greer, director of development, Clarion University Foundation, Inc.; Dr. Pamela J. Gent, provost and vice president of Academic Affairs; and Betsy Kellner, representing the Zonta Club of Oil City-Franklin scholarship.

Last Updated 5/1/19