Top business students at Clarion invited to join international honor society

April 22, 2011
beta gamma masters
Front row: Eicher, Balough, Danvers and Pesek.
Second row: Barrows, McElhattan and Brooks.
Third row: Gump, DiTullio and Gottuso.
Not pictured: Rehberg.

Only the best business students in the world, and the professionals who earned the distinction of "The Best in Business" during their academic careers, can claim membership in Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

The Clarion University College of Business Administration congratulates the 21 students who have accepted the invitation to join the honor society. While nearly 300,000 students receive bachelor's or master's degrees in business each year, only approximately 18,000 are inducted into lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 7 percent of the junior class, top 10 percent of the senior class and top 20 percent of master's programs at schools accredited by AACSB International -The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, are eligible for this invitation to honor society membership.

The following students were inducted into the Clarion University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at the spring 2011 ceremony, which took place on April 21, 2011 in Moore Hall.

Masters: Gordon V. Barrows, David T. Brooks, Matthew D. DiTullio, Thomas R. Gottuso, Jr., Cory B. Gump, Dustin M. McElhattan and Shawn M. Rehberg.

Seniors: Alice C. Castellucci, Brandon R. Cehily, Sharon L. Correll, Tyler J. Cotherman, Heidi M. Miller and Teresa M. Wiskman.

Juniors: Christopher A. Biedka, Carrie M. Bretz, Nicholas D. King, Maggie A. Macek, Miranda E. Mease, Brandon L. Miller, Zachary J. Schloemer and Lauren N. Stroup.

beta gamma 2011 seniors
Front row: Eicher, Balough, Danvers and Pesek.
Second row: Cotherman, Castellucci, Wiskman and Correll.
Not pictured: Cehily and Miller.

Dr. James G. Pesek, president of the Clarion University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma and dean of the College of Business Administration, welcomed the students to the honor society and inducted them into Beta Gamma Sigma with help from Drs. Robert Balough, Kreag Danvers and Jeffrey Eicher. Clarion University President Karen Whitney congratulated the students and spoke about the importance of civic engagement.
Beta Gamma Sigma was founded as a national organization in 1913. Its mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and personal and professional excellence in the practice of business. The society endeavors to foster in its members an enduring commitment to the principles and values of Beta Gamma Sigma: honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom and earnestness.

Less than one-third of U.S. business school programs and only 15 percent of business school programs worldwide meet the rigorous standards of AACSB international accreditation. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.



beta gamma 2011 juniors
First row: Eicher, Balough, Bretz, Danvers and Pesek.
Second row: Schloemer, Mease, Stroup and Macek.
Third row: Biedka, King and Miller.

Clarion University is the high-achieving, nationally recognized, comprehensive university that delivers a personal and challenging academic experience.

Last Updated 4/9/18