Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Parameters for article:{}

New terms run through June 30, 2016

Harrisburg – The Board of Governors of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) has voted to extend the contracts of 12 university presidents through June 30, 2016.

Those receiving one-year extensions are:

  • David L. Soltz, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania

  • Michelle R. Howard-Vital, Cheyney University of Pennsylvania

  • Karen M. Whitney, Clarion University of Pennsylvania

  • Marcia G. Welsh, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania

  • Julie E. Wollman, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

  • Michael A. Driscoll, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

  • F. Javier Cevallos, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

  • Michael Fiorentino Jr., Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania

  • Francis L. Hendricks, Mansfield University of Pennsylvania

  • John M. Anderson, Millersville University of Pennsylvania

  • Cheryl J. Norton, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

  • Greg R. Weisenstein, West Chester University of Pennsylvania.

PASSHE university presidents initially receive a three-year “rolling contract,” which is subject to annual review. As a result of that performance-based review, a president’s contract can be extended by a year.

California and Shippensburg Universities of Pennsylvania both are being led by interim presidents, who will serve until a permanent president is hired.

The Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education is the largest provider of higher education in the commonwealth, with about 112,000 students. The 14 PASSHE universities offer degree and certificate programs in more than 120 areas of study. About 500,000 PASSHE alumni live and work in Pennsylvania.

The state-owned universities are Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock and West Chester Universities of Pennsylvania. PASSHE also operates branch campuses in Clearfield, Freeport, Oil City and Punxsutawney and several regional centers, including the Dixon University Center in Harrisburg and the Philadelphia Multi University Center in Philadelphia.

10/17/2013 2:06 PM

PASSHE Board of Governors extends contracts of 12 university presidents