Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Parameters for article:{}

The Alpha Kappa Delta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, located at Venango College, held its 36th annual induction ceremony on Friday, March 1, at the Quality Inn in Franklin. Guest speaker for the evening was Elizabeth Griebel, former Phi Theta Kappa Chapter President.

Professor Beth Jackson, long-time advisor for Phi Theta Kappa, welcomed the audience, comprised of members, their families, and Venango College faculty and staff.  Dr. Chris Reber, Venango College executive dean, congratulated the students for their excellent academic and service achievements. 

“The students being inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society should take great pride in their achievement.  Many of these students balance family, school and work obligations and meeting the induction requirements is no small feat,” stated Reber. 

A Phi Theta Kappa member, Jessica Grams provided the invocation for the ceremony and an a cappella performance of the Phi Theta Kappa official song. Carl Olson provided background music for the event.

Ms. Griebel, a 2012 graduate of Clarion University’s associate of science in paralegal studies program, located at Venango College, encouraged attendees “to be willing to get involved in clubs and organizations, such as Phi Theta Kappa, and to use the valuable tools that they will gain from these memberships to excel in life.” 

            Inducted into the honor society were Carrie Alden, Christine Barnes, Lisa Clement, Andrea Crawford, Mikaela Cunningham, Holly Docter, Mathew Duda, Amanda Dunlap, Lori Ferry, Jodi Fierst, Ethan Fritz, Brandy Grinnell, Anthony Haag, Stephanie Heeter, Jaima Holben, Donald Hosey, Christina Kaspick, Sara Lander, Renee Miller, Thongsouk Saengdy, Rebecca Schleifer, Staci Snyder, Bethany Stephens, Randi Stephenson, Lucy Wagner, Emily Williams, Sherry Woodrow, Michael Young, and Ashley Zaccari.  

            Newly-elected Phi Theta Kappa officers for the 2013-2014 academic year are Holly Docter, president; Corrina Woods, vice president of community events; Amanda Dunlap, vice president of public relations; Rachel Servin, vice president of fundraising; Sara Lander, vice president of honors in action; Ashley Zaccari, vice president of hallmarks; Lucy Wagner, secretary; and Lisa Clement, treasurer.

            The Alpha Kappa Delta chapter is active at Venango College and in the community.  It co-sponsors the Venango College Criminal Justice Club Easter Egg Hunt and an annual Halloween event for the community, coordinates and hosts an annual blood drive, is active in the Adopt-a-Highway program and the Totes-for-Tots program, which encourages reading for children in area Head Start programs and pre-schools.  The chapter created a new Honors in Action project this year, entitled Catapult to the Frontline, aimed at improving all students’ academic experiences at Venango College through several peer taught workshops.  The chapter was awarded 4-star status level of achievement for a Phi Theta Kappa chapter in 2012 and continues to maintain this status.

            Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.  Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates, and Palau.  In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

5/8/2013 8:00 AM

Honor Society Holds Induction