Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Parameters for article:{}
psi chi inductees
Students inducted into the Clarion University chapter of Psi Chi, the psychology honorary, are: (from left) Katie Bender, Megan Dahler, Emily Flaus, Emily Jonas, Andy Manos, Becca Stelter, Sean McCormick and Jessica Ziegler.

The Clarion University chapter of Psi Chi, a psychology honorary, inducted nine new members at its semi-annual banquet Nov. 28. Psi Chi recognizes psychology majors and minors who have demonstrated academic excellence in psychology. Its goals include encouraging, stimulating and maintaining excellence in scholarship and advancing the science of psychology.

Clarion University Associate Provost, Dr. Susan Turell, herself a counseling psychologist, was the banquet's keynote speaker. She congratulated new and graduating members on their academic achievements and discussed why she loves psychology.

Members newly inducted into Psi Chi during a candlelight ceremony include: Katelynn Bender, Lewistown; Joshua Biss, Vandergrift; Megan Dahler, Glenville; Emily Flaus, Pittsburgh; Emily Jonas, Saegertown; Andrew Manos, New Castle; Sean McCormick, Pittsburgh; Rebecca Stelter, Sugar Grove; and Jessica Ziegler, Cooperstown.

psi chi officers
Dr. Susan Turell (left), Clarion University associate provost, was keynote speaker at Psi Chi's semi-annual banquet. With her are Psi Chi officers (from left) Emily Jonas, Keeley Frank, Leigha Miles, Marissa Beveridge and Jessica Coon.

Graduating seniors Rosemary Cunningham, Presto, and Leigha Miles, Morrisdale, discussed their goals for the future, their experiences in the psychology department and at Clarion University, and advice for other students. Other members of the Clarion chapter reflected on their time at Clarion. Chapter president, Keeley Frank, Telford, urged members to remember to contribute to the Giving Tree which is sponsoring two local families for the holidays.

In addition to Frank, who is serving as president, and Miles, who is ending her term as treasurer, chapter officers include: Jessica Coon, Franklin, vice president; Marissa Beveridge, Punxsutawney, secretary; and Jonas, outreach. Dr. Jeanne Slattery serves as chapter advisor.

Clarion University is the high-achieving, nationally recognized, comprehensive university that delivers a personal and challenging academic experience.

12/6/2012 9:43 AM

Clarion University Psi Chi honorary inducts members