New Nursing Programs

Emergency Closing Policy

Text Alert

Get Connected

Microsoft Exchange: Quota Management & Deleted Items Folder



Overview:

When a message is deleted in Exchange, it is actually retained temporarily in a special folder called "Deleted Items".  Messages in the Exchange 'Deleted Items' folder count against the space quota for an account.  For the message to be fully deleted, the message has to be removed from the Exchange "Deleted Items" folder.   Messages in the 'Deleted Items' folder are automatically removed after 60 days (see below for full details).  This automatic message removal only applies to the 'Deleted Items' folder.

 


Exchange "Deleted Items" Folder Guidelines:

  • Deleted e-mails will be available for restoration for up to 60 days from date you initially deleted e-mail.

  • Deleted e-mails located in your "Deleted Items" folder are accessible for up to 45 days (after the date you initially deleted them)

  • Deleted e-mails older than 45 days (from date you deleted) are still accessible for recovery (known as a "holding area") for an additional 15 days

  • Do not use your "Deleted items" folder as a filing system.  If you need to retain a message, file it in a custom folder.  See our Folder Management for details.


Identify how much of your e-mail quota is "used" and "free":

    1.  Open a web browser and login to your Exchange account using "Outlook Web App - OWA" (email.clarion.edu)
    2.  Move cursor so it points (hover over) to your Exchange account name
         US_OWASpece


E-mail Disk Quota Notices or Warnings for Faculty / Staff (based on amount of space used):

  • 3.6GB limit reached - send a warning message to user

  • 4GB limit reached - prohibit sending e-mails

  • 4.039GB limit reached - prohibit sending and receiving


How to recover deleted messages:


Recommended ways to save e-mails from being lost due to Exchange "Quota Policy":

    1.  Move e-mails from your "Deleted Items" folder to a "Personal Folder" you create
         (see Folder Management for more details)
    2.  Instead of deleting messages that you "might" need in the future...simply move the
         e-mail to a "Personal Folder" you created