Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Parameters for article:{}

Clarion property aquisition approved

The Clarion University Council of Trustees Thursday night authorized the acquisition of two properties on Corbett Street in Clarion Borough for future expansion.

Approval for the purchase is subject to approval by the Chancellor and Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education Board of Governors.

“Two parcels of land have become available for purchase in close proximity to the University which fit into the University’s long range plans,” said Paul Bylaska, vice president for finance and administration. The two properties and purchased price authorization include:

•957 Corbett Street, owned by J.W. Barley, up to $114,000 and

•961 Corbett Street, owned by Rebecca Beerbauer, up to $119,000.

In other business, Bylaska also introduced a Clarion University Hazard Mitigation Plan that recommends mitigation activities that will reduce losses to life and property affected by hazards that could face Clarion University. Trustees are expected to take action at the September 18 meeting.

A status of facilities projects, also presented by Bylaska, projects the completion of the new Science and Technology Center for occupancy in May 2009 after conclusion of the semester. Completion of the new food service center and two residence hall suite buildings are planned for December 2008.

Enrollment projected

President Joseph Grunenwald reported that enrollment patterns continue to shift, including a dramatic increase in the number of graduate students. Graduate enrollment, in addition to distance education students, is expected to offset any drops in traditional first time in college enrollment.

“The number of traditional 18-year-olds in western Pennsylvania keeps dropping and we will continue to compete for the best of these students in addition to meeting the needs of our non-traditional students. “

Contributions exceed $5.5 million in 2007-08

Private support for Clarion University continues its dramatic growth, with the Clarion University Foundation, Inc. reporting a grand total of private support in the 2007-08 fiscal year of $5.5 million. “These are unaudited figures,” said Harry Tripp, vice president for student and university affairs, in making the report. Alumni are the largest giving constituency, with 4,199 donors giving $2,995,588.29 in 2007-08.

“This represents a lot of good work by the Advancement staff, not just this year, but in past years,” said Grunenwald. “There has been much groundwork laid in earlier years for planned giving, bequests, and cultivation to reach this giving level.”

Promotions and sabbaticals announced

Annual faculty promotions and sabbaticals were announced as part of the meeting agenda.

Faculty members promoted by the President, effective August 16:

Associate professor to full professor: Mark Kilwein, special education; Michael McConnell, mathematics; John McCullough, education; Jamie Phillips, political science, sociology and philosophy; and Kevan Yenerall, political science, sociology and philosophy.

Assistant professor to associate professor: Valerie Bennett, biology; Melissa Kuntz, art; David Lott, biology; Kathleen Murphy, education; Frank Shephard, finance; and Lorie Taylor, special education.

Instructor to assistant professor: Jim Lyle, mass media arts, journalism, & communication studies.

Faculty members awarded tenure, effective August 16: Henry Alviani, music; Kreag Danvers, accountancy; Anthony Grenci, accountancy; Laurie Occhipinti, anthropology, geography, and earth science; Kenneth Staub, communication sciences and disorders; Lorie Taylor, special education; Michael Torres, mass media arts, journalism, and communication studies; and Jonathan Touster, chemistry and biochemistry.

Faculty members awarded sabbaticals (except where noted, all were awarded at full pay) included:

Kate Eggleton, 2009-2010 academic year, research SNP mapping for canine epilepsy; Jane Fox-Tarr, Fall 2009, research factors that enhance on-line learning and retention for BSN students; Ben Freed, TBD, write problem-solving courses for mathematics students; Vickie Harry, 2009-2010 academic year, research inquiry-based science initiatives in MAIS member schools; Catherine Joslyn, Spring 2010, research European and Asian art; John McCullough, 2009-2010 academic year design, create, and maintain an electronic exhibit room for 2010 NCATE re-accreditation review; Dana Madison, TBD, redesign Math 340: Discrete Mathematical Structures; Randon Otte, 2009-2010 academic year, expand competency in personal financial planning; Melanie Parker, TBD, analyze mathematics placement systems; Karen Smith, 2009-2010 academic year, consolidate research at half pay into role played by world literature courses in educating students about cultural globalism; Lynn Smith, Spring 2010, develop handbook for students seeking entry into post-graduate programs in economics; Kevin Stemmler, Spring 2010, complete work on novel; and Chin Yang, 2009-2010 academic year, investigate absenteeism and performance in principles of microeconomics classes.

Next Meeting

Attending the meeting were Syed R. Ali-Zaidi of Shippenville, Susanne Burns of Shippenville, R. Lee James of Oil City, Richard R. Hiinski of Erie, James Kifer of Rimersburg, and Jeff Szumigale of Erie (via telephone).

The next meeting of the Trustees will be held Thursday, Sept. 18, at Venango Campus in Oil City.

8/20/2008 11:19 AM

Clarion property aquisition approved