Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Parameters for article:{}

Clarion University–Venango Campus held its 20th annual Honors Night celebration at the Quality Inn at Franklin on Thursday, April 28, 2011. The event recognizes the achievement of students receiving scholarships and those who excel academically and in leadership positions. Outstanding Student Awards, Special Achievement Awards, and Dean's List certificates were also presented to the student honorees.

Dr. Christopher M. Reber, executive dean of the Venango Campus, congratulated the students and thanked the scholarship donors.

"This is a proud occasion for all of you and all of my colleagues at Clarion University," he said. "We salute you and thank you for your excellence and your commitment to Clarion University-Venango Campus. And we are extraordinarily grateful to our scholarship donors and sponsors whose generosity is truly inspiring."

Venango Campus alumnus Debbie McNerney Eckelberger delivered the keynote speech. Ms. Eckelberger, a member of the board of directors of the Clarion University Alumni Association, earned an associate degree in business administration at Venango Campus and went on to complete a bachelor's degree in business administration at the Clarion campus. A very active member of the community, she encouraged the students to become civically engaged.

"By being honored here tonight you have shown that you are a leader, no matter what degree you are pursuing," she said. "Tonight I want to ask you to take your leadership skills, your time and your talents in your chosen fields to a higher level, to make use of them to give back to your community."

Eleven students were selected by their peers and Venango Campus faculty for the Outstanding Student Awards. Recipients were Rusty Hartzell, Arts and Sciences; Branden Bauer, Industrial Technology; Bobbie Haag, Paralegal Studies; Doreen Lawton, Nursing (ASN); James Rowland, Criminal Justice; Cylee Rhoades, Rehabilitative Services; Tyler Sobash, Respiratory Care; Jenna Ashley, Medical Imaging Sciences; Betty Martin Hannold, Nursing (BSN); and Dustin Flaherty, Liberal Studies. Emily Aubele, director of student affairs, presented William Price with the Contribution to Student Life Award.

Members of the Venango Campus Honors Program for the 2010-11 academic year were Jennifer Burchfield, Julie Cashdollar, Kayle Essei, Amy Ferringer, Amy Gerwig, Jen Girty, Kathy Goodwin, Bobbie Haag, Jennifer Hallstrom, Mary Hulse, James Kronmiller, Doreen Lawton, Terry Leatherman, Marcia Miller, Renee Shacklock, Danielle Shreckengost, Erin Weaver, Nenad Zelenkov, Robin Zerres, and Dawna Zimmerman.

The Clarion University-Venango Campus Scholarship Committee awarded scholarships to the following students at the ceremony:

• Ronald E. Black Scholarship: Michael Hess, an industrial technology major from Marble

• Clarion University-Venango Campus Endowment Fund Scholarships: Amber Dietz, a medical imaging sciences major from Verona; Tyler Moon, undecided, from Cooperstown; Jennifer Morrissey, a nursing major from Maytown; and Nathan Wolfgang, an accounting major from Emlenton

• Frank Clark Scholarship: Charity Crawford, a nursing major from Rimersburg

• Dale Woodard Gent Law Firm Scholarship: Sherry Patton, a bachelor of science in nursing major from Harrisville

• Galaxy Federal Credit Union: Sara Barnett, a communications major from Oil City

• Dr. Thomas A. Gardner Scholarship: Carrie Young, a medical imaging sciences major from Mercer

• Nathan and Jack Gourley Memorial Scholarship: Jessica Grams, a nursing major from Oil City; Bobbie Haag, a business major from Franklin; and Robin Zerres, a nursing major from Polk

• William Huber Memorial Scholarship: Autumn Pratt, a nursing major from Guys Mills

• David M. McElhattan Memorial Scholarship: Amy Ferringer, a psychology major from Cooperstown

• Dr. Glenn R. McElhattan Scholarships: Lauren Evers, a medical imaging sciences major from St. Marys; Elizabeth Gadsby, a paralegal studies major from Oil City; and Eric Gumkowski, a criminal justice major from Verona

• Oil City Lions Club Scholarships: Elizabeth Gadsby; Alyson Johnson, a medical imaging sciences major from Franklin, and Brianna Snow, an English major from Oil City

• Oil City Rotary Scholarships: Bethany Stephens, a nursing major from Oil City, and Nathan Wolfgang, an accounting major from Emlenton

• Pennzoil Scholarship: Anne Armstrong, a business major from Oil City

• Dr. & Mrs. Arthur William Phillips Scholarships in Memory of William J. McFate and Judge William E. Breene: Amy Bahurinsky, a nursing major from Meadville; Alexis Best, a nursing major from Knox; Lindsay Hasbrouck, a nursing major from Centerville; Dawn Quiet, a medical imaging sciences major from Taunton, Maine; April Robinson, a medical imaging sciences major from Mercersburg; and Bethany Stephens, a nursing major from Oil City

• Regional Vision Scholarship: Brenda Miller, a nursing major from Conneautville

• Second Presbyterian Women Scholarships: Emily Hawke, a medical imaging sciences major from Stoneboro; Terry Leatherman, a nursing major from Clarington; April Robinson; and Julia Snyder, a medical imaging sciences major from Oil City

• UPMC Northwest Auxiliary Scholarships: Amber Delaney, a nursing major from Leeper; Veronica Foster, a nursing major from Grove City; and Erica Garbarino, a nursing major from Clarion

• Greg Vayda Memorial Scholarships: Rachel Stiller, an early childhood education major from Oil City

• Gloria J. Zampogna Scholarship: Jamie Miller, a nursing major from Jamestown, Penna.

• Zonta Club Scholarship: Lindsey Batchelor, a nursing major from Sandy Lake

Additional Venango Campus Scholarship Committee scholarships are available for students who apply for the 2011-2012 academic year. For more information, contact the office of LaTrobe Barnitz, Coordinator of Admissions and Financial Aid, at 676-6591, extension 1211.

Scholarships were also awarded through the School of Nursing and Allied Health to the following nursing students:

• Rosemary Coogan Endowed Scholarships: Tamara Curry of Franklin, Cheryl McLaughlin of Seneca, and Catherine Zellers of Pittsburgh

• Dr. Julia Donovan Memorial Scholarship: Tara Dunlap of Franklin

• Virgil and Carol Freebourn Nursing Scholarship: Patrick Burke of Oil City

• Elizabeth M. McCord Memorial Scholarship: Rebekah Nottingham of Erie

• Dr. & Mrs. Arthur William Phillips Scholarship: Leah Gatesman of Lucinda and Heather Marlowe of Clarion

• Dolores Sherman Scholarship: Leila Benik of Oakmont

• Dorothy Story Smith Scholarship: Lindsey Batchelor

In addition, the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency awarded 50 scholarships to nursing students in the associate and master's degree programs.

Clarion University–Venango Campus, located in Oil City, Penna., is the oldest regional campus in Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education. The campus provides high-quality educational programs and personalized services to help students succeed. Students can earn an associate degree, a bachelor's or master's degree in select areas, obtain a one-year certificate or participate in a variety of professional development and personal enrichment courses. The campus is home to Clarion University's School of Nursing and Allied Health, Department of Applied Technology, and the Venango Campus Department of Arts and Sciences. Clarion University–Venango Campus is committed to serving the needs of the community.


5/2/2011 4:00 PM

Clarion University–Venango Campus Honors Student Achievement